Maps.

Maps. Preparation. Planning. Destinations.

I place upon the walls of my living room maps of the places I want to visit.  Each day I stare at them.  I make notes of points of interest.  I research recommended routes. I scan pages of books to reference on the road.  I attempt to plan.  I gather as much information ahead of time as my head and my iPhone will handle.

But, planning only goes as far as my fingertips.  Sitting on the couch, I can lay out my wants and desires, but it is no match for experiences.  Sometimes it is a feeling in my gut that makes me take a detour or an unexpected change in weather that has me turn a different direction.  Any which road I end up taking, all I can do is listen to myself and make the most of it. Many have told me its not the destination that matters, its how you get there and what you enjoy along the way.  But if you don’t know where you want to be, how can you get there? How do you know which direction to point yourself in? I realize that unforeseen encounters can sometimes be best ones, but sometimes its up to you to make it happen. And its all part of the adventure.

 

