Day 10- day off. Playing in Portland

20110830-071612.jpg

I found out last summer, about once a week, it’s necessary to take a day. Give the body and mind some time to rejuvenate.

I woke up in a campground nestled amongst tall mossy trees and low lying ferns near the Cascade locks along the Columbia River. I rode through the gorge; tall strands of waterfalls lined historic highway 30. First bits of water fell from the sky. In less than an hour I arrived in Portland. Off we went for a day to play, my sister and I walked around town and ate. It started with a scrumptious home style breakfast at Cup and Saucer, tantalizing afternoon tea and truffles at Moonstruck Chocolates, then filled up with a hefty burrito at La Bonita. Divine as it was to splurge on such good food today, I know tomorrow will return to the deliciousness twigs and berries.

20110830-073814.jpg

8 thoughts on “Day 10- day off. Playing in Portland

  1. Nice, sounds like you are having fun! I was just in bridgetown last week, so I’m still thinking of food and beer. lol. If you have time make sure to check out Laurelhurst Market | 3155 E. Burnside, Portland OR 97214. the ham sammy is fricken great! Safe rolling girl!

  2. Wow, it was Great to ride with you, if only for a short time. I know how bad you wanted me to come along for the whole trip but it was not to be. I do feel bad that I forgot to swap kicks with ya but I am happy to see you up in the great north and moving along. Please let me know if there is anything you need as I have tons of parts I would be glad to send up north as needed. of course if you need tech. advice dont call me but as for moral support well ya know. If at all possible I would love to meet up with ya as you cruise south on the coast and buy you a meal and here your stories, I will be waiting by the phone. Thanx again for teaching me to slow down and sniff the flowers, I will be practicing that whenever I ride in the future. Thanks again, Tim

    • You’re breaking my heart :P. Thanks for all the bike help in WA. New chain is spectacular. You might be impressed, I rode 410 miles yesterday and took lots of pics along the way…

Comments are closed.