Day 39. Raccoons stole my nuts

I should have known when I chose campsite number 13 that it was not going to be lucky. I had seen those pesky but cute raccoons weaving in and around the redwoods just moments before. I had tried to grab a picture, but failed, as the sun was low, tucking itself behind a hill, and the density of tall trees soaking up any light that was left. I had my back turned for only a minute when I saw the hunched grey and black furball cross my camp to join another that was helping itself to my foodsack, relieving me of a hefty bag of nuts. As the masked thief scurried into the cover of ferns, I could hear the plastic bag being poked and torn until the contents were accessible to be devoured. I gave up the chase and they got the feast.

So to add to the night of thievery, anyone who ever complained about Alaska being expensive has never camped on the California coast. Not only have I paid the most for gas here in CA, tonight tops the list in camp fees: $28 for a county tent site (AK ranged from $12-20 max). It includes a patch of dirt to sleep under glittering stars above giant redwoods, along with the roar of soothing, rolling ocean waves, which cover up the sound of devious raccoon feet. Apologies not included.

2 thoughts on “Day 39. Raccoons stole my nuts

  1. I camped next to a couple in Florida’s Okefenokee swamp who said a ‘coon burned them for an entire whole raw chicken.

    DanO

  2. I’m sad to see your trip winding down but I know how good home can feel after and extended time away. I’m on day 3 of almost 5 straight weeks of travel. Literally won’t be home for more than 4 days until 11/1. Look forward to the last posts …

Comments are closed.