Growing up Above the Clouds

This is how I know my father…

From the vantage point of a young girl, peeking around the scratchy, mustard yellow seat back, looking up at this gentle giant tilting his head toward the blinking lights, a sun weathered hand from years of construction turning knobs, talking into the microphone to air traffic control, all to keep us afloat above the clouds.  I always loved looking down on the clouds.  As I got bigger and the legroom didn’t, I still squished into the back of the Cherokee 6. I wanted to watch the ground beneath pass by like the miniature sets I had come to know. I wanted to watch my dad yell “clear” before the props engaged.  I wanted to feel my stomach drop as the wings dove to get my sister and I to be quiet. I just wanted to be around my father and watch the happiness of when he flies.

As I get older and think about having kids of my own, I begin to realize how uncommon of a practice it is to drag the wee ones along.  So Dad…thank you for stuffing me in the back of an airplane since I was one year old. I hope to bring adventure to mine someday.  Cheers to the parents who already do.  Maybe give a little spark of motivation those who don’t.  But above all, just want to say…

Happy Father’s Day to a great man.

