Argentina: the winds, the chase, and the nearing end.

The motorcyclists who had ridden this road before me all warned about the severe 100 mph cross winds that can pick up tumble weeds, unsuspecting armadillos, and even small motorbikes, then fling them across the barely two lane, treacherous dirt width of the infamous Ruta 40. I had been so cautioned about this experience, that it was not for the faint of heart or riding capabilities, that I wasn’t sure I was going to make it past these intense winds to Ushuaia.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

I almost hate to inform everyone of my experience… I rode under blue skies lit by a blissful 65-degree sun, with barely a cloud to promise rain. There were tickles of wind that could barely stir the dried leaves of the plants that lined the ripio.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

The worst of it was the bit of gravel, interrupted by fresh pavement as they haphazardly pieced a new highway beside it. Knowing those a week ahead of me encountered water soaked, gusty days, I thought to myself, could it really be possible? Is this really the same place everyone spoke of? Yes. But one day on either side of an interrupted weather pattern could mean all the difference in riding to the end of the road…

3 thoughts on “Argentina: the winds, the chase, and the nearing end.

  1. Allison!!!

    The ladies i work with ask me about you all the time. I share your pics and blog with them whenever i can. Be safe and know were thinking about you.

  2. Allison,
    You were lucky! The winds blew us off our tandem bike….we camped in a culvert at mid day and tried again the next day …got 20ks and then THE WIND. We got a ride with a friendly pickup. The U is beautiful. Ride out to the park. Stay safe Art & Judee

Comments are closed.