ODE to Oscar… my KLR685…

A video tribute to my 2003 KLR685:

 

I couldn’t let it go without paying honor to a motorcycle I have shared so many years with, even if it is just a KLR. That’s saying something since I have never done this for any ex-boyfriend. I wanted to show and explain a little bit of the process and development over the last 3 years – 8 months and 46,579 miles as both Oscar and I progressed.

Sifting through my oh-so-many-images of the trip, I Finally found a good pic of Oscar…

121031_ADvKLR_theAmericas_0239-2

Specs:
Purchased: in July 2009 for $2,100 in Lancaster, CA, USA with 8,895 miles
Sold: in March 2013 for $1,800 in Puntas Arenas, Chile with 55,474 miles

Countries visited:
US (States: Alaska, Washington, Oregon, California, Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Colorado, Utah, Wyoming, South Dakota, Montana, Idaho, Nevada), Canada (Providences: British Colombia, Yukon, Alberta), Baja California, Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, Chile, Argentina

I was going to touch upon the pros and cons of owning a KLR, but a list of modifications over the years and an evaluation of whether they were worth it or not might be of more interest: KLR-Modifications & COST

And a BIG THANKs to the many hands who have helped me along the way!!

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “ODE to Oscar… my KLR685…

  1. Fantastic post, Alison! You did a great job of putting this piece together. Very informative and very well done. We loved seeing all that you’ve been through with Oscar. Thanks for sharing! Love Mom & Saul 🙂

  2. Bravo ! Well done ! Been following your adventures since crossing trails in Colorado 2010. Your history with Oscar is astounding. Your comment regarding the KLR are spot on. My first KLR was in 1988 and opened many a road less traveled as it is a true workhorse, your tractor analogy is very accurate. My bothers KLR is presently in the UK waiting for his return to continue his European Vacation. You’ve proven it doesn’t take fists full of dollars to explore our world, and if you do it right you can even recover some of your cost! Can’t wait for the book and more of your excellent photography.

    Thanks for sharing
    DSLyn

  3. Hi Alison,

    Where did you purchase the quick jack, presumably to raise front or rear wheel for changing tires ?

    Thanks,

    Emir Vidjen, 09 – KLR 650 Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

  4. Pingback: A Women and her Motorcycle | thats him officer

Comments are closed.